Hans Thirring Prize 2019/2020 to Yaakov Y. Fein


The research of Yaakov Y. Fein, alumnus of the Vienna Doctoral School in Physics, has been awarded with the Hans Thirring Prize for outstanding dissertations at the Faculty of Physics.

We are delighted to congratulate VDSP alumnus Yaakov Y. Fein, who is this year's laureate of the Hans Thirring Prize. The Faculty of Physics of the University of Vienna awards this annual prize named after the theoretical physicist Hans Thirring for an outstanding dissertation from the previous academic year.

In his dissertation, Yaakov, who was supervised by Markus Arndt, pursued research on a "Long-baseline universal matter-wave interferometry".

We also congratulate all students of the Master's, Diploma and Teacher Accrediation Programme Physics who were selected to the dean's list.

Yaakov Fein (© Oleg Domanov)