The ESI Medal 2024 goes to Piotr T. Chruściel


The Medal of the Erwin Schrödinger Institute for Mathematics and Physics for the year 2024 is awarded to Piotr T. Chruściel, Professor at the Faculty of Physics of the University of Vienna.

Professor Chruściel is honoured for his original and influential contributions to many areas in the field of Mathematical Relativity, including the mathematical description of black holes, the initial value problem for the Einstein equations, and aspects of current physical interest, like the influence of weak gravitational fields on the propagation of photonic states in dielectric wave-guides. He and his co-authors obtained deep new insights by combining sophisticated methods from differential geometry, topology and partial differential equations. Outstanding examples are Chruściel's work on the concept of mass, on the structure of initial data sets, as well as his seminal contributions to Lorentzian geometry of non-differentiable metrics.

The Award Ceremony will take place in the fall of 2024 at the Erwin Schrödinger Institute for Mathematics and Physics in Vienna.

Piotr T. Chruściel Born in 1957, Zabrze, Poland, Piotr Chruściel began his academic journey at Warsaw University, where he completed his Master's degree in 1980. He then earned his PhD in Physics in 1986 from the Institute for Theoretical Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, under the guidance of Prof. J. Kijowski. From 1986 to 1996 he worked as a Senior Research Associate at the Polish Academy of Sciences, from 1994 to 2010 he was Professor of Mathematics at the Université de Tours and from 2006 to 2010 also Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford. Since 2010 he has been Professor of Gravitational Physics at the University of Vienna.

Over the years, Chruściel has held various prestigious fellowships worldwide, including positions at renowned institutions such as the Institute of Physics, London, the University of Cambridge, the Australian National University and the Albert Einstein Institute for Gravitational Physics in Potsdam. He is the recipient of the Prix Plumey 2003 of the Académie des Sciences de Paris. From 2011 to 2016 he was a member of the Governing Board of the of the ESI.

Webpage of Prof. Chruściel:

The ESI Medal The Medal of the Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics, or ESI Medal, awarded in 2020 for the first time, has been created to recognize outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics or physics, including contributions at the interface of the two fields. The previous recipients of the ESI Medal are Anton Alekseev (2020), Elliott Lieb (2021), Martin Hairer (2022) and Isabelle Gallagher (2023).

The ESI Medal is awarded annually and emphasis is generally given to recent achievements not older than ten years. There is no age limitation for the recipient and ordinarily the ESI Medal is awarded to one person.

The recipient of the ESI Medal receives a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of 4,000 Euro. Nominations for the ESI Medal can be made by organizers of current and previous ESI Thematic Programmes, current and former ESI Senior Research Fellows, former members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the ESI, former recipients of the ESI Medal, former Directors of the ESI and the President of the ESI Association. The recipient is selected by the Scientific Advisory Board of the ESI.

Piotr Chruściel (© Barbara Mair)